© Kahurangi Press 2010-2019


Haere mai (Welcome) and Kia ora (Hello) from Kahurangi Press

We are an independent publisher in Aotearoa/New Zealand, the Land of the Long White Cloud.

Our titles are available on Amazon.

– August 2018 New Releases –

The 27 Club: Why Age 27 Is Important (Revised 2018)

All the Rough Beasts: The Death of the Earth, Part 1

All the Rough Beasts: The Death of the Earth, Part 1

by Michael Owen

Is the Earth dying? Yes. Is it already dead? Don't know. Is there still time? Probably not. All the Rough Beasts, the first in The Death of the Earth series (upbeat title, eh!), explores how some writers and cultures in the past--Ovid, Goethe, Jung, and the Maya--have dreamed and seen what is already here.

To think the unthinkable allows what does not have a home to find a home. Then it will not appear in matter the same way as it might have done. Perhaps. A dose of robust and thoughtful pessimism is needed to balance the mindless optimism that infects us. Oh, but there's still time! We may have gone past the tipping point and there may be no time. Time to think about the unthinkable.

At some point the decline, long past irreversible, will become obvious. The deniers and sceptics and diggers and drillers will have long passed away and we will think "How did it to come to this?" Heroic optimism will not save the day. Then the keening and wailing will begin.

Gaia will shake and move her body to survive. In assent, the wombs of women will cease to create. Pussy will not be available for grabbing. Legs will be closed. The patriarchy will collapse, sink to its knees, and fade away, going blind. And unthinkable will be the rage of the children toward the father for killing the only mother we ever had.

Future books in this series will explore the historical, psychological and religious roots of what has come to pass, and how we might dream a different future.

Kahurangi Press, 2018, 223 pages

Paperback $12.95 Kindle $6.95

The 27 Club: Why Age 27 Is Important (Revised 2018)

by Michael Owen

Is the 27 club just a myth? (No). Is it a “curse?” (No). But the 27 Club is not what you think. It’s more than the deaths of Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison, Janis Joplin, Kurt Cobain, Amy Winehouse and others. Michael Owen uses the teachings of the Moon Cycles and C G Jung’s notion of the puer to understand the creative person who is always young beyond his years and often dies an early death, physical or emotional. He explores the natural 9 month, 3 year (Little Moon) and 27 year (Big Moon) rhythms, based on the length of human pregnancy, by which the psyche grows and matures, and looks at what happens when we under- or over-reach ourselves. Not a book on astrology, The 27 Club gives new insights into the timing of crises and opportunities during our twenties. This “calendar” is applicable to any birth and death—a life, a business, a relationship. And read about the 27 year cycle and 9/11.

Kahurangi Press, 2018, 105 pages

Paperback $6.95 Kindle $3.95

Look Inside!

Jung and the Native American Moon Cycles

by Michael Owen

The Moon Cycles are an indigenous teaching about the archetypal influences and forces that affect us at different times in our lives. Michael Owen shows readers how to place the events of their own lives on the Moon Cycles and gain a new perspective on the births and deaths (inner and outer) in their life. They will see what learning periods are ahead of them and understand the importance of the nine-month, three-year and twenty-seven year cycles. Freud died 27 years after he fainted in Jung’s presence and said “How sweet it must be to die.”  And Jung dreamed of the 1945 firebombing of Dresden 27 years before it happened.

This book offers new insights into Jung’s life and death and how the rhythm of his life coincided with the great events of the 20th century. It also casts new light on Jung’s fateful encounter with Freud as well as his relationships with women and his supposed anti-Semitism.

Nicolas-Hays, 2002

Amazon.com $22.95 | Amazon UK £19.99

Look inside with Google Books!

The Maya Book of Life: Understanding the Xultun Tarot

by Michael Owen

The Maya Book of Life explores the archetypes and alchemy of the major arcana of the Xultun Tarot through indigenous teachings and the analytical psychology of C G Jung. The Xultun Tarot was created by New Zealander Peter Balin in 1976 based on images from Maya history and culture. It is the only tarot deck where the major arcana form a complete picture. This picture is a symbolic image of the alchemical marriage of spirit and matter and also a map of what Jung called the individuation process. The Maya Book of Life is the companion book to the Kahurangi Press reprinting of the original edition of the Xultun Tarot. Please note: This book refers to the major arcana only.

“Brilliant, eye-opening” —Arthur Rosengarten, PhD, author of Tarot and Psychology.

​“A profound book of wisdom” —Mary K Greer, author 21 Ways to Read a Tarot Card.

Kahurangi Press 2010, ISBN 978-0-473-11989-8, paperback, 500 pages

6.1 x 9.2 ins, 156 x 234 mm, index, bibliography, 108 illustrations.

Amazon | Paperback $40.00 | Kindle (pdf) $36.56

Amazon UK | Paperback £25.00 | Kindle (pdf) £19.49

The Xultun Maya Tarot (Classic Edition)

by Peter Balin

The 2011 Classic Edition is a re-creation of the original 1976 edition true to its larger size and vibrant colours. See the story of cards on xultun.com.

Please note: This is not the Lotus Press 1978 edition sold on Amazon with muted colours and a smaller size.

Kahurangi Press 2010, 80 cards, major and minor arcana

89 x 136 mm, 3.5 x 5.3 ins, 0.37 kgs, 0.82 lbs

Order from KAHURANGI PRESS with PayPal

20% discount + free world-wide shipping!

USD45.00 USD36.00

Order from Amazon

Amazon USD45.00 plus Amazon shipping

Amazon UK GBP35.12 plus Amazon shipping